Table of Contents
- Key takeaways: the best AI chatbots for documentation at a glance
- What is an AI chatbot for documentation?
- How these documentation chatbots were ranked
- The 6 best AI chatbots for documentation in 2026
- 1. SiteGPT: best for a business website chatbot trained on documents from several places
- Key features
- Pros
- Cons
- Pricing
- Rating
- Best for
- 2. DocsBot: best for one small docs site on a low budget
- Key features
- Pros
- Cons
- Pricing
- Rating
- Best for
- 3. Kapa: best for developer documentation
- Key features
- Pros
- Cons
- Pricing
- Rating
- Best for
- 4. GitBook Assistant: best for docs that already live in GitBook
- Key features
- Pros
- Cons
- Pricing
- Rating
- Best for
- 5. CustomGPT: best for large document libraries that need a citation on every answer
- Key features
- Pros
- Cons
- Pricing
- Rating
- Best for
- 6. Chatbase: best for a docs chatbot with a built-in helpdesk
- Key features
- Pros
- Cons
- Pricing
- Rating
- Best for
- Documentation chatbot comparison table
- What a documentation chatbot costs with scheduled refresh
- Which documentation chatbot is the most secure?
- How to choose an AI chatbot for your documentation
- Documentation chatbot use-case cheat sheet
- How to add an AI chatbot to a documentation site
- AI chatbot for documentation FAQ
- Basics
- What is the best AI chatbot for a business website trained on your own documents?
- What is the best AI chat for product docs and FAQs?
- How is a documentation chatbot different from docs search?
- Sources and sync
- Can one chatbot answer from several docs sites?
- Which AI chatbots cite source documents?
- How do documentation chatbots stay current when docs change?
- What is the best AI chatbot for MkDocs?
- How do you add an AI chatbot to a GitBook site?
- Pricing
- How much does a documentation chatbot cost?
- Is there a free AI chatbot for documentation?
- Security
- Which is the best secure document chatbot?
- Is it safe to train a chatbot on internal documents?
- Sources

- SiteGPT trains on a website crawl, a sitemap, files, YouTube, GitHub, Notion, Google Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive, and Box. Plans start at $59 a month billed monthly, or $39 a month billed yearly. It has no free plan and no dedicated GitBook or Confluence connector. A public docs site is added by URL or sitemap.
- DocsBot has a free plan with 50 source pages. Its Personal plan costs $49 a month for 5,000 pages with a monthly source refresh.
- Kapa is built for developer docs. It publishes install guides for Docusaurus, GitBook, and 16 other platforms, and paid plans are quote only.
- GitBook Assistant answers from docs hosted in GitBook. The full chat needs the Ultimate plan at $249 per site a month billed annually, with 500 answered questions included.
- Scheduled refresh is the feature that splits the plans. It starts at $49 a month on DocsBot, $129 on SiteGPT, $150 on Chatbase, and $499 on CustomGPT, all on monthly billing.
Key takeaways: the best AI chatbots for documentation at a glance
Tool | Best for | Key strength | Starting price |
A business website chatbot trained on documents from several places | Website, sitemap, files, YouTube, GitHub, and five connected apps in one chatbot, with human escalation | $59 a month billed monthly, or $39 a month billed yearly | |
DocsBot | One small docs site on a low budget | Free plan, then 5,000 pages and a monthly refresh at $49 | $0, then $49 a month |
Kapa | Developer documentation | Cited answers, continuous sync, and a hosted MCP server | 14-day free trial, then a quote |
GitBook Assistant | Docs that already live in GitBook | No crawl or sync step, because the assistant reads the published site | $65 per site a month plus $12 per user, billed annually |
CustomGPT | Large document libraries that need a citation on every answer | 5,000 documents per agent and citations on every plan | $99 a month billed monthly |
Chatbase | A docs chatbot with a built-in helpdesk | Weekly auto-resync and a helpdesk from the Standard plan | $0, then $40 a month |

What is an AI chatbot for documentation?
- Product docs and FAQs. Help articles, setup guides, release notes, and pricing pages on a public site.
- Developer docs. API references and guides, often written in Markdown and stored in a Git repository.
- Business documents. PDFs, Word files, slide decks, and pages in Notion or a cloud drive.
How these documentation chatbots were ranked
- Source coverage. Which content types can the tool read: website crawl, sitemap, files, Git repository, cloud drives, and video?
- Freshness. Does the tool re-read your content on a schedule, and on which plan does that start?
- Source links. Does an answer show the reader where it came from?
- Cost of a working setup. What does the cheapest plan with a scheduled refresh cost over 12 months?
- Security paperwork and reviews. Which plan lists SOC 2 and a data processing agreement, and what is the G2 rating?
The 6 best AI chatbots for documentation in 2026
1. SiteGPT: best for a business website chatbot trained on documents from several places

Key features
- Website sources: crawl a site, import a sitemap, or paste a list of links, as described in the website guide
- File uploads such as PDFs, plus a text snippet you type into the dashboard
- Connected apps listed on the integrations page: Google Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive, Box, Notion, GitHub, and YouTube
- GitHub connector that reads Markdown files by file pattern, up to 5,000 files per pattern set
- Auto-sync for website crawls, sitemap imports, and GitHub: monthly on Growth, weekly on Scale
- Sitemap scan on Scale that adds new URLs and removes deleted ones, as often as daily
- Links under an answer to the web pages that matched the question
- Escalation to a human, lead collection, and 95+ languages
Pros
- One chatbot reads websites, files, video transcripts, repositories, and cloud drives
- Flat monthly price with a published message quota
- Include and exclude paths, CSS selectors, and a main-content filter keep navigation text out of answers
- Custom responses steer the answer to a specific question
- A remote MCP server and a CLI let an AI assistant manage the chatbot on Growth and above
Cons
- No free plan. The 7-day free trial requires a credit card.
- Starter refreshes content by hand only. Auto-sync starts on Growth at $129 a month billed monthly.
- Auto-sync covers website crawls, sitemap imports, and GitHub. Notion, Google Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive, Box, YouTube, and uploaded files are resynced by hand.
- Website auto-sync does not delete pages you removed. A sitemap scan does, and scan schedules need Scale.
- Source links appear for web pages only. Files and text snippets have no link, and a link can show for a matched page the AI did not use.
- Search works by meaning. Exact strings such as part numbers or error codes are not matched letter by letter.
- Removing the "Powered by SiteGPT" label is an add-on at $39 a month billed yearly.
Pricing
Plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly (per month) | Pages | Messages a month | Content refresh |
Starter | $59 | $39 | 1,000 | 4,000 on GPT-4.1 mini, or 400 on GPT-4.1 | Manual |
Growth | $129 | $79 | 10,000 | 10,000 on GPT-4.1 mini, or 1,000 on GPT-4.1 | Monthly auto-sync |
Scale | $429 | $259 | 50,000 | 40,000 on GPT-4.1 mini, or 4,000 on GPT-4.1 | Weekly auto-sync, sitemap scan up to daily |
Enterprise | Custom | Custom | Custom | Custom | Custom |
Rating
Best for
2. DocsBot: best for one small docs site on a low budget

Key features
- Sources named on the pricing page: websites, PDFs, Word docs, Markdown, HTML, RSS feeds, spreadsheets, manual entries, and an API
- Cloud source types from Personal and ticket source types from Standard
- Source refresh: monthly on Personal, weekly on Standard and Business
- Slack, Messenger, WhatsApp, and Telegram from Personal
- Remote MCP connections on Personal, and a bot exposed as an MCP server from Standard
Pros
- Free plan with 1 bot, 50 source pages, and 100 AI credits a month
- 5,000 source pages and 5,000 AI credits for $49 a month
- Scheduled refresh starts on the $49 plan
- Annual plans give two months free
Cons
- Personal includes 1 bot and 1 team user.
- Escalation ticket creation starts on Standard at $149 a month.
- Unbranded chat widgets need Business at $499 a month.
- SOC 2 Type II, GDPR compliance, and a standard DPA are listed from Business.
- AI credits start at 1 per message and can use more with larger models and actions.
- The G2 base is 3 reviews.
Pricing
Plan | Billed monthly | Bots | Source pages | AI credits a month | Source refresh |
Free | $0 | 1 | 50 | 100 | None |
Personal | $49 | 1 | 5,000 | 5,000 | Monthly |
Standard | $149 | 3 | 15,000 | 15,000 | Weekly |
Business | $499 | 10 | 100,000 | 60,000 | Weekly |
Rating
Best for
3. Kapa: best for developer documentation

Key features
- Public sources: docs, websites, GitHub, YouTube, and forums
- Private sources on paid plans: Confluence, Notion, Zendesk, Salesforce, and Drive
- Continuous sync on Growth and Enterprise
- Pre-built agents for docs sites, in-product chat, support forms, Slack, Discord, and Zendesk
- Retrieval API and a hosted MCP server, including on the trial
- Analytics with knowledge gap reports
Pros
- Answers carry citations to the source
- 14-day free trial with no credit card: 1 index, 5,000 pages crawled, and 1,000 answers
- SOC 2 Type II and GDPR are listed on every plan, including the trial
- Unlimited dashboard seats on every plan
- 43 G2 reviews at 4.8 out of 5
Cons
- No published price. Growth and Enterprise both say "Contact us".
- The trial refreshes content by hand. Continuous sync needs a paid plan.
- Zero data retention and PII masking start on Growth.
- SSO, role-based access, and EU hosting are Enterprise only.
- The workspace pauses when the trial ends unless you move to a paid plan.
Pricing
Plan | Price | Knowledge limits | Sync |
Free trial | $0 for 14 days | 1 index, 5,000 pages crawled, 5,000 retrieval queries, 1,000 answers | Manual refresh |
Growth | Contact sales | Sized to the customer | Continuous, including private sources |
Enterprise | Contact sales | Custom, unlimited indexes | Continuous, with regional hosting |
Rating
Best for
4. GitBook Assistant: best for docs that already live in GitBook

Key features
- AI Assistant Ask: short answers in the search box, on Essential and Ultimate
- AI Assistant Chat: a full chat sidebar, on Ultimate
- An expandable list of the sources used for each answer
- Embed in your own website or product, on Ultimate
- External sources such as GitHub and Slack through connections, on Ultimate
- An MCP server for the docs on every plan, including Free
Pros
- Nothing to train or resync, because the assistant reads the published docs
- You are charged credits only for relevant answers
- AI insights show how the assistant answered, so writers can find gaps
- 208 G2 reviews at 4.7 out of 5 for the GitBook platform
Cons
- It only helps if your docs are hosted in GitBook.
- The full chat, embedding, and external sources need Ultimate at $249 per site a month billed annually.
- Each relevant question uses 20 credits. Ultimate includes 10,000 credits, which is 500 answered questions a month.
- The assistant pauses when credits run out.
- It does not answer across separate docs sites.
Pricing
Plan | Price, billed annually | AI credits included | Assistant |
Free | $0 | None | None |
Essential | $65 per site a month plus $12 per user | 2,000 (100 answered questions) | Ask, in the search box |
Ultimate | $249 per site a month plus $12 per user | 10,000 (500 answered questions) | Chat sidebar, embed, external sources |
Enterprise | Custom | Custom | Chat, with SAML SSO |
Rating
Best for
5. CustomGPT: best for large document libraries that need a citation on every answer

Key features
- Citations and sources on every plan
- PDFs, Office documents, and 1,400+ document formats
- Sitemap, YouTube, Confluence, Notion, Google Drive, Zendesk Knowledge Base, and HubSpot Knowledge Base listed as integrations
- 10 agents on Standard and 25 on Premium
- 90+ languages
- RAG API access on Standard
Pros
- 5,000 documents per agent and 60 million words of storage on the entry plan
- Ten agents for $99 a month suits several product lines or departments
- SOC2 Type 2 and GDPR compliance are listed on every plan
- Annual billing saves 10%
Cons
- Standard includes 1,000 queries a month.
- Website auto-sync starts on Premium at $499 a month billed monthly.
- Branding removal also starts on Premium.
- A DPA and custom SSO are listed on Enterprise.
- The G2 listing has 1 review.
Pricing
Plan | Billed monthly | Billed annually (per month) | Agents | Queries a month | Documents per agent |
Standard | $99 | $89 | 10 | 1,000 | 5,000 |
Premium | $499 | $449 | 25 | 5,000 | 20,000 |
Enterprise | Custom | Custom | As needed | As needed | As needed |
Rating
Best for
6. Chatbase: best for a docs chatbot with a built-in helpdesk

Key features
- Six source types in the data sources guide: files, websites, text snippets, Q&A pairs, Notion pages, and helpdesk tickets
- Website sources by crawl or sitemap, with exclude paths
- Auto-resync on Standard and Pro that re-reads websites, sitemaps, Notion pages, and tickets every week
- Helpdesk, voice, and API access from Standard
- Sources are live within seconds of being added
Pros
- Free plan with 50 message credits a month
- Low entry price at $40 a month
- Weekly resync at $150 a month, where SiteGPT lists weekly sync on its $429 plan
- 46 G2 reviews at 4.8 out of 5
Cons
- Training content is capped by size: 10 MB on Hobby, 20 MB on Standard, and 40 MB on Pro.
- Free and Hobby have no auto-resync. A website is resynced by hand.
- Hobby does not list the Helpdesk.
- Removing "Powered by Chatbase" costs $99 a month.
- Free agents are deleted after 14 days of inactivity.
Pricing
Plan | Billed monthly | Message credits a month | Training content size | Auto-resync |
Free | $0 | 50 | 1 MB | No |
Hobby | $40 | 700 | 10 MB | No |
Standard | $150 | 4,000 | 20 MB | Weekly |
Pro | $500 | 15,000 | 40 MB | Weekly |
Enterprise | Custom | Custom | Custom | Custom |
Rating
Best for
Documentation chatbot comparison table
Tool | Reads beyond one docs site | Scheduled refresh starts at | Source links in answers | Free option | G2 rating |
Yes: files, YouTube, GitHub, Notion, four cloud drives | Growth, $129 a month billed monthly | Web pages only | 7-day trial, card required | 4.9 (12) | |
DocsBot | Yes: files, cloud and ticket sources by plan | Personal, $49 a month | Not stated on the pricing page | Free plan | 4.3 (3) |
Kapa | Yes: GitHub, YouTube, forums, private tools on paid plans | Growth, quote only | Yes, cited answers | 14-day trial, no card | 4.8 (43) |
GitBook Assistant | On Ultimate, through connections | Not needed for GitBook content | Yes, expandable source list | None for the assistant | 4.7 (208) |
CustomGPT | Yes: 1,400+ file formats and listed integrations | Premium, $499 a month billed monthly | Yes, on every plan | 7-day trial | 4.0 (1) |
Chatbase | Yes: files, Notion, tickets | Standard, $150 a month | Not stated on the pricing page | Free plan | 4.8 (46) |
What a documentation chatbot costs with scheduled refresh
Tool | Cheapest plan with scheduled refresh | Monthly price | 12-month cost | Refresh schedule | Usage included |
DocsBot | Personal, billed monthly | $49 | $588 | Monthly | 5,000 AI credits, 5,000 pages |
Growth, billed monthly | $129 | $1,548 | Monthly | 10,000 GPT-4.1 mini messages, 10,000 pages | |
Chatbase | Standard, billed monthly | $150 | $1,800 | Weekly | 4,000 message credits, 20 MB |
GitBook Assistant | Ultimate, 1 site and 1 user, billed annually | $261 | $3,132 | Not needed | 500 answered questions |
CustomGPT | Premium, billed monthly | $499 | $5,988 | Website auto-sync | 5,000 queries |

Which documentation chatbot is the most secure?
Tool | SOC 2 | Data processing agreement | Other items listed |
SOC 2 Type II examined | Signed DPA on request, Enterprise only | HIPAA BAA on Enterprise only. No EU data residency | |
DocsBot | SOC 2 Type II, listed from Business | Standard DPA from Business, custom DPA on Enterprise | HIPAA and data residency options on Enterprise |
Kapa | SOC 2 Type II on every plan | Not stated on the pricing page | Zero data retention and PII masking from Growth. EU hosting on Enterprise |
GitBook Assistant | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page | SAML SSO and legal and security reviews on Enterprise |
CustomGPT | SOC2 Type 2 on every plan | Enterprise | GDPR compliance listed on every plan |
Chatbase | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page | SSO and HIPAA eligibility on Enterprise |
How to choose an AI chatbot for your documentation
If you need... | Pick... | Why |
One website chatbot trained on a docs site, PDFs, a repository, and cloud drives | It reads all of them into one chatbot | |
The lowest price for one docs site | DocsBot | Free plan, then $49 a month with a monthly refresh |
An assistant for developer docs with an API and MCP server | Kapa | Cited answers and install guides for 18 platforms |
AI answers inside docs hosted in GitBook | GitBook Assistant | It is built into the docs platform |
A citation on every answer across thousands of files | CustomGPT | Citations on every plan and 5,000 documents per agent |
Chat and tickets in one product | Chatbase | Helpdesk and weekly resync from Standard |
Docs that change every week | Chatbase Standard or SiteGPT Scale | Both re-read websites weekly. Chatbase costs $150 a month and SiteGPT Scale costs $429 |

Documentation chatbot use-case cheat sheet
Scenario | Best pick | Why |
SaaS marketing site plus a help center on a subdomain | Each hostname gets its own crawl, and both feed one chatbot | |
Docs written in Markdown in a GitHub repository | The GitHub connector reads files by pattern and auto-syncs | |
MkDocs or Docusaurus site for an open-source project | Kapa | Built for developer docs, with install guides per platform |
A new product with 30 help articles | DocsBot | The Free plan covers 50 source pages |
Docs hosted in GitBook, under 500 AI questions a month | GitBook Assistant | Ultimate includes 10,000 credits |
Policy and research PDFs for an internal team | CustomGPT | Citations on every answer and 1,400+ formats |
Small docs set, and support staff need tickets | Chatbase | Helpdesk on Standard at $150 a month |
Release notes that ship every week | Chatbase | Weekly auto-resync at the lowest price |
Product docs in several languages | 95+ languages on every plan | |
Docs behind a login | Kapa or SiteGPT | Kapa lists authenticated sources on paid plans. SiteGPT can send custom headers on a crawl |
How to add an AI chatbot to a documentation site
- List your sources. Write down the docs URL, the sitemap, any PDFs, and the repository or drive folders that hold answers.
- Add the docs site. Use the sitemap if one exists. Exclude paths that are not documentation, such as a blog or a careers page.
- Strip page noise. Keep the main content and leave out headers, footers, and sidebars so navigation text does not reach answers.
- Set a refresh schedule. Match it to how often the docs change. Resync by hand after a large release.
- Test with real questions. Ask the ten questions your team answers most. Fix the content first when an answer is wrong.






